Shark Awareness Day – July 14th


Shark Awareness Day

July 14th

July 14th is Shark Awareness Day. This day is aimed at bringing awareness to shark and the threats to their survival.

Shark Trivia

  • There are 440 different species of sharks in the world today.
  • The blue shark is one of the fastest species.
  • Great white sharks grow up to 16 feet and weight around 1,500-2,400 pounds.
  • The Whale shark is the largest shark species, and also the biggest fish species in the world. Whale sharks can grow to 65 feet in length and weigh up to 75,000 pounds. Their skin is six inches thick.
  • Nurse sharks are a nocturnal species that usually live on the ocean bottom and often seek shelter in caves and crevices.
  • The brown-banded bamboo shark is a small shark found in shallow waters. Females of this species have an amazing ability to store sperm for at least 45 months, giving them the capability to fertilize an egg without ready access to a mate. They can also get pregnant by more than one shark at a time.
  • The blue shark is known to give birth to as many as 135 pups in a single litter.
  • The megamouth shark species was only recently discovered in 1976. There have only been about 100 sightings have been confirmed since. This is a large, filter-feeding shark that lives in the Atlantic, Pacific, and Indian Oceans.
  • Because females need to safely carry shark babies, they tend to be larger than males in most shark species.
  • Lemon sharks return to the place they were born to mate.
  • Unlike humans that can only move their bottom jaw, sharks can move both their lower and upper jaws.
  • Sharks’ skeletons are made of pure cartilage and muscle and not bone.
  • Shark embryos eat each other in an act known as intrauterine cannibalism.
  • Sharks have a sixth sense that allows them to detect prey by tapping in to the small electrical fields that other animals generate using tiny organs called the ampullae of Lorenzini.
  • Since both humans and sharks are jawed vertebrates, we share a common ancestor, believed, according to Nature, to be the Acanthodes bronni. 
  • Due to their eye placement Hammerheads’ have the ability to see 360 degrees. “
  • Carpet, Angel, Weasel, Mackerel, Crocodile, Zebra, and Cat are all types of sharks.
  • Bull and River sharks can and do survive in freshwater rivers and lakes.
  • Spiny dogfish species of shark can take two years to gestate before delivery.
  • A 21-foot great white can produce a force of almost 4,000 pounds per square inch which is four times stronger than a tiger or lion.
  • Sharks have been around for about 450 million years, making them older than dinosaurs.
  • The Carcharodon megalodon, is found to have lived over 16 million years ago, and it grew to 55 feet long and weighed as much 25 tons. It went extinct about 2.5 million years ago. It was the largest predator that ever lived, eating dolphins, whales, and other megalodons.
  • Some sharks can have up to 15 series of teeth in each jaw.
  • Ever found a shark tooth on the sand at the beach? Scientists say because sharks constantly lose their teeth their are trillions of shark teeth lining the bottom of the ocean.
  • One of the smallest sharks is the dwarf lantern shark. This little shark is found near the northern coast of South America and grows to just six inches in length. Interestingly its organs emit light along its belly, helping to camouflage it in the rays of sunlight that stream into the shallow water it inhabits.
  • Megalodons were alive long before the megs. They are a pink-skinned fish with a strange looking long and flat snout. The animal grows to around 10 to 13 feet and length and keeps deep underwater, near the ocean floor.
  • You can determine the age of most species of fish by counting the “rings” on small calcium structures in their ears.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial